April 9, 2009

  • i'm sorta glad my manager brought this to my attention because i know i was doing this too. she told me i have improved much all across the board including cashier speed score, number of surveys and number of red cards. but, she said that i wasn't interacting with the customers enough. i am so focused on the speed score that i don't have any time for chatting. i actually like to avoid chatting and keep it to a minimum. but, this is gonna force me to start trying more conversation even if it's just a few lines extra. those few lines extra will mean the difference between friendly or not, closed or open, connection or no connection. time to level up once again. my level of interaction is so minimal while cashiering it even astonishes me. let's say a highly extroverted and friendly person says, hi ! how's it going?! i sometimes just ignore them and start scanning a ultra high speed. or if they are lucky, i say, "i'm doing good thanks." that's it. LOL i think the normal cycle is for me to ask them how they are doing too. but i always found this type of cycle of communication to be so fake. like strangers care how i am doing or how i am. i know i usually don't care how they are doing or how they are. so asking it would be a lie of sorts for me, so i always avoided doing it. today, i actually tried to ask how people were doing. maybe twice, i guess it wasn't a big deal. it's not being fake or lying. it's just a simple greeting protocol. i think i must have been putting too much significance behind it.

Comments (3)

  • Too much focus on it in my opinion. Most of the people just want to get out of the store as quickly as possible so they expect you to do your best as fast as possible. Obviously, you can always ask them back about how they're doing but I think a simple hello is fine.

  • @kachino - yep, i was going for the simple hello method. but some people are really extroverted and friendly and take it to the next level. i think i'll adjust my sociability to the person i am dealing with. if they are quiet, a simple hello. if they are outgoing and ask me how i am doing, i'll be polite and do them the same. i just need to keep trying and experience through trial and error. :)

  • @mooks_dayoo - Exactly! That's a great approach. Go with the flow...

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment