May 22, 2007

  • adopt-a-wall

    IMG_0360 Malibu, CA - Yesterday.

    Driving back and forth on10 freeway, from Alhambra to Santa Monica, I
    can't help but notice all the graffiti on the wall. It starts around
    Normandie and lasts till the Overland exit. Every month or two, they
    get repainted w/ a light beige color only to get revandalized once
    again. It's pretty damn retarded. Why can't they figure out a way to
    prevent this? We can put a man on the moon, create complex information
    system like the internet, but we can't out-think a bunch of bored
    highschool students w/ too much time on their hands? The parents are
    probably to blame at the most basic level, but they are prolly too busy
    handling 2-3 jobs just to keep food on the table. Putting the
    sociological, behavioral aspects aside, I've thought of some practical
    ideas to prevent this dumbass tug of war of paint from continuing.

    1. Grow vines on the walls where graffiti is problematic. I notice that
    the taggers leave the vined areas alone. Obviously spraying on them is
    useless bc their "artwork" will not stand out to the commuter audience.
    Or maybe they are tree huggers, eco-friendly at the core.

    IMG_0350Malibu, CA - Yesterday.

    2. Preemptive Graffitti. This idea is to paint the walls a certain
    design/color so that when they graffitti on the wall, the vandalism
    does not show up. For example, use colors that the vandalists usually
    use and make an interlaced design. I'm not sure how aesthetic the
    appearance might be, so this idea will probably not fly.

    3. Grow trees in front of the walls where there is dirt where they can
    be planted. Just hide the walls altogether. Let them spray all they
    want, behind these trees.

    IMG_0304Malibu State Lagoon Beach, Adamson House

     
    4. Adpot - a - Wall. Obviously, the municipal government isn't
    resolving this problem. I'm not sure if this is because of lack of
    funding, lack of ideas, or a corruption occuring where the
    manufacturers that are selling the paint to the goverment is getting
    easy profits. In any case, let corporate america get a piece of this
    action. Those walls can be good for advertising. Let them adopt a wall
    and take responsibility for them. In exchange, allow them to advertise
    in that area.

    5. Dig a ditch infront of the wall where there is dirt. (bb's idea)

    IMG_0310Adamson House - Malibu, CA.. frontal.

    6. Round up civilian vigilantes who will monitor the walls each night, and taser anyone who tries to spray on the walls.

    7. Spray over the graffitti, with de-masculinating (is this even a word) messages in hot pink.

    IMG_0317Adamson House, rear.

    8. Create areas in the inner city where kids are freely allowed to
    create artwork. Designate walls that are graffiti-friendly and let them
    spray to their heart's desire. Get it out of their system.

    I think the vine and tree ideas are the best. It's good for the
    environment, so the general population will be accepting of it. It
    doesn't require tasering kids in the middle of the night. And it is
    probably cost effective. Spend a few dollars vegetating our freeways
    instead of using that same money re-painting walls for decades to come.

    IMG_0344 rockstar, hollywood..glamorous-glamorous

    most pictures had nothing to do w/ my blog entry. just wanted to stick them up there, for the sake of sticking them up.
     IMG_0368 chisaku-han, yesterday.

    i think my dad has been clandestinely feeding chisaku-han, non-dog food. she has been looking extra plump lately.

Comments (6)

  • lol, your vegetation ideas are pretty good and yea i was wondering what any of the pictures had to do with your post. hahaha, i like your disclaimer at the END of the post =)

  • Those are some neat houses! :) It kind of reminds me of San Marino/Pasadena.... ahhh, i miss home!

  • who's the model in the 2nd to last pic?
    Jae

  • wow, look at that.  l.a. just amazes me.

  • i like 1 3 5 8 . especially 5. hahaha. you should let these ideas out to the cities. who knows if there may be a change.

  • haha...someone likes my ditch idea! NICE!!!

    Yo muky, so no blading? what if the water is cold? i dont have a wet suit...i'd say we bring our gears just in case.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment